Home   |   Contact Us   |   Site Map
Egirdir
 

Eğirdir, a district of Isparta Province, is rich in historical and natural assets. The district is well known for Eğirdir Lake, which changes its colour at all hours of the day and Can Island of which deed was submitted to Mustafa Kemal ATATÜRK, who is the founder of the Turkish Republic by Eğirdir people. Turkish Armed Forces’ Mountain Commando School and the most important Bone Diseases Hospital in Turkey are in the district. Eğirdir is also known for Sığla Forests, Kasnak Oak which is rarely seen in the world and its endemic Apollon Butterfly.

History

It is supposed that Eğirdir city was founded by the last leader of Lydia, Kroisos (560-547 BC.), and its first name was “Krozos”. Internal castle of the city was constructed by the Lydians. It was named as Prostanna during Romans period. It is thought that the first Turkish settlement to the region was occurred a few years after 1071. Anatolia Seljuk Ruler, Kılıçaslan III conquered Eğirdir together with the surrounding cities in 1204. The Seljuks named the city as Cennetabad due to its natural beauties, and used it as a resort place. Eğirdir and its surroundings became under the rule of the Ottomans in 1391.

Later on, the region experienced the sovereignty of Mongol Empire and Karamanoğulları Principality, and was added to the territory of Ottoman State during the reign of Sultan Murad II in 1423. After Tanzimat Period (between 1839-1876 in Ottoman history), the region became a subdivision of Konya Province. After the foundation of Republic in Turkey, Eğirdir has maintained its district status.

Climate

In respect of climate, the district is in a transition area between the Mediterranean and Central Anatolia Climates. It has a more temperate climate in comparison with the city centre, and receives rainfall during winter and spring months.

Where to Visit


Eğirdir Castle

There is an internal and external castle on the peninsula reaching through the lake in Eğirdir. The Internal Castle is still standing whereas only the base of the external castle reaches to the present day. The Internal Castle divides the peninsula to north-south direction. It had been repaired for several times during the Roman and Byzantium periods. It recently had been repaired during the Hamitoğulları Period and demolished again by the invasion of Eğirdir by Timur, the Mongol Emperor.

Eğirdir Caravanserai

The Caravanserai is on the Konya-Antalya road. It is composed of two sections namely as Courtyard and Enclosed Space. It was built in 1237. Today, there are base traces of a few voyager rooms in the courtyard.

Eğirdir Lake

Eğirdir Lake, is the 4th biggest lake in Turkey with a surface area of 517 sq. km., has an altitude of 1000 meter above sea level. It is in the middle of the district centre among Sultan Mountains. The small part of the lake is in the north, is called as Hoyran Lake and the other part in the south is called as Eğirdir Lake. Both lakes are connected to each other via Hoyran Pass. Like an extension of peninsula, which Eğirdir is located on, there are two small islands, namely Can Island and Green Island (Nis). Due to the recent diminish of water these islands are connected to Eğirdir.

Green Island

The Island with an area of 9 hectares is still authentic with its rock based wooden houses, narrow streets and small fisherman shelter. Green Island, formerly known as Nis, is 1,5 km far from Eğirdir. It attracts the attention of the visitors with its boarding-houses and fish restaurants. On the island, there is the Ayastefanos Church which is assumed to be holy by Christians

Can Island

With a surface area of 7000 sq. metre, it is a pretty island between Eğirdir and Green Island. It only serves as a picnic area. In 1933, the island was given as a gift to Mustafa Kemal Atatürk, who is the founder of Turkish Republic.

Ancient Cities

Prostanna Antique City

It is one of the cities of Pisidia. There are remains of some buildings’ bases and city walls in the ancient city. The Acropolis of this city was built it with an altitude of 2000 m. There is a rectangular shaped temple within the ramparts.
Relıgıous Monuments

Hızırbey Mosque

The biggest mosque in Eğridir, was built by Hızır Bey in (1327-1328). The mosque was rebuilt under the leadership of Yılanlıoğlu Şheikh Ali Aga, after it burnt in a fire in 1814. It was opened for worship again in 1820. It is important for its large size, historical value and pulpit. Moreover, it is claimed as unique in the world with its minaret on the arch.

Ağa Mosque

It was built in 1413. Its minaret was built in 1777. Later on, it was repaired and covered with tiles.

Yılanlıoğlu Mosque

The mosque was built in 1806 with a stone minaret by Yılanlıoğlu near the tomb of Sheikh-ul Islam El Berdai.

Ada Mosque

The mosque is in the Green Island. It was built as a church at first time, but opened for worship as a mosque by the order of Osman II in 1618. Its former name was Kız Kilisesi (Girl Church).

Baba Sultan Tomb

As it is understood from the inscription on the door, it was built for a person named İsa Bin in 1358 during Hamidoğlu İlyas Bey period. There are also tombs of two persons named Sureti Baba (Zorti Baba) and Palor Baba.The tomb is open for visitors.

Sinan Paşa Mosque

As it is recorded in the inscription on the door, that it was built in 1376. It is understood that the mosque was built 6 years before Isparta and its environs came under the control of Ottomans.

Dündar Bey Madrasa (Theology School)

It was built as an inn in 1237 during the reign of Seljuk Sultan Gıyaseddin Keyhüsrev II, and was turned into a madrasa in 1301 by Hamidoğlu Dündar Bey.
Two-storeyed Madrasa has a courtyard in the middle and 30 rooms. At the entrance of the madrasa, there is a big stone door. The outer edges of the door were embellished with the Seljuk Period geometrical shapes.

Ayastefanos Church

It was built in the 19th century. The restoration work, commenced by Eğirdir Municipality in 1993, still ongoing. It is known that formerly the Greeks of Turkish Nationality were visiting the church and performing religious rituals in the church while they were going to Jerusalem as Christian Pilgrim nominees.

Aya Georgios Church

It is on the slope of the hill in Eğirdir. Some parts of the church walls are still standing.

Natıonal Parks

Eğirdir’s protected areas are Kovada Lake National Park and Kasnak Oak Nature Conservation Area.

Beaches

Altınkum Beach

Beach under Eğirdir train station has fine sands, and it is the most appropriate place for swimming in the lake. It is a safe beach with its shallowness without exceeding human height even at 200 meters away from the shore. There are changing cubicles, showers, cafes, buffets, telephones and health cabinets. The beach won the award of Blue Flag in 1988. It has a capacity of 50 tents. Also there are bungalows for rent.

Bedre Bay

With a 1500 meter coastal line, Bedre Bay is a beautiful swimming and recreation place on Eğirdir-Barla road. It is at a distance of 11 km from the city centre. There are changing cubicles, cafes and camping in the areas.

17 704922008_a3d102f1a6 cennetabad_e33 EGIRDIR


Name Surname * :
:
Fax :
Email * :
:
Date of Arrival :
Arrival City :
Date of Departure From :
Departure City :
Number of Traveler * :
Notes :
Security Code :   7 + 5 =